Circuit of Ireland Rally

Navigation Rallies

Syonfin Hillclimb

Event Winners

Autocross winners.pdf

Fuel Economy Run winners.pdf

Gortin Hillclimb winners.pdf

Haddens Quarry Sprint winners.pdf

Harry Johnston Memorial Rally winners.pdf

Moffatts Quarry Sprint winners.pdf

Pre-Circuit Rally winners.pdf

Scallon Cup Rally winners.pdf

Syonfin Hillclimb winners.pdf

75th Anniversary

Seamus McCanny’s Bushwhacker Rally memories appeared in the event’s 40th anniversary programme.

I was COC of the event at the time of the Baronscourt reference that Seamus makes.  The Baronscourt Inn had a new owner and I had managed to get a large sponsorship donation from him for taking the rally there for a lunch halt. We had dropped a lot of time in the morning on the Gortin Stages and Seamus was adamant that we needed to pull back all of this in the regroup. In view of the sponsorship I was reluctant to cut the lunch halt so drastically but eventually agreed. The leading crews didn’t fair too badly but those at the tale end of the field ending up putting ice cubes in their soup to cool it enough so that they could back out of the regroup on time

Grandfather Time

1966 Ken Wharton

1984 Pre-Circuit Winners

Bushwhacker 2012

Fivemiletown 2015

The Dunomen Rally organised by Dungannon, Omagh and Enniskillen Motor Clubs in 1972.

A victory for our hard working Safety Officer

1975 Bushwhacker –  photo of Hugo McDaid, Eamon O’Hagan and Hugh O’Brien

The mystery driver of the Starlight Rally Mini is none other than our President – Mr.McDaid

BushWhacker 1987

Auto Tests

The 1988 Ken Irwin Autotest which was won by Colin Earney. Colin and his partner Laura do timekeeper for us at our autotest events nowadays, while his sons Andrew and Richard are competitors. Also if you look closely you might recognise our club Chairman – Gary Milligan….he actually had hair and no glasses!!

A N.I. C. C Championship win for Lewis and Leslie, and the top MMP Awards for Brian and Denis.

1984 Ulster Rally

A couple of photos from Hugo of a Breakfast Halt Parc Ferme in High Street, Omagh on the 1984 Ulster Rally.

You were up early to take these Hugo – PF in was at 05.39 and PF Out was at 07.00. From High Street the crews went to Gortrush for a 20 minute service.

These were the days before compulsory 6 hour rest breaks. The rally started at 18.00 on Friday evening and went through the night finishing at Belfast City Hall at 18.00 on Saturday.

There were 13 stages before the breakfast halt and another 14 stages after it with 20/30 minute services only.

The event made a big impression on Irish rally fans. We had never seen anything with the speed of Walter Rohrl’s 500hp Quattro and he scored the car’s first International win on the event.

Patterson’s Bulletins for the event. You will see that he was 43 seconds ahead after 2 stages! He won by over 4 minutes.

You can catch ITV ‘s World of Sport Saturday lunchtime rally report (10 mins) on the link below.

For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded. For more details, please see our Privacy.
I Accept

Gortin Glens Time Trial 2009

Moffatt’s Quarry 2007

Circuit Of Ireland in 1970’s

The second photograph features Brian Wilson who apparently owned a garage in Newtownstewart. Peter Johnston who was Club Secretary in the early 60’s, Mike Hart, Harry Johnston and Ronnie McCartney. The car on the right is a Renault 8 Gordini.

Spring Rally 2010 & 2011

C.A.M Rally

The C.A.M rally was another Bushwhacker forerunner and ran in 1971, 1973 and 1974.

Winners were as follows;

1971 Hugh O’Brien / Hugo McDaid Ford Escort TC
1973 Ronnie McCartney / Peter Scott  Porsche Carrera
1974 Paul Martin / Derek Smyth Ford Escort TC

No Editorial’s for 1973 and 1974

Post Wartime

With V.E day a few post wartime events – OMC’s first post war trial in June 1949 and the 1949 Circuit of Ireland Rally.

The 2009 Bushwhacker

First Year of the McKelvey Sponsorship

The Master and The Master Driver article appeared in the 2011 Bushwhacker programme